Queen’s University of Belfast

  • Academic
  • Belfast, United Kingdom


Queen's University Belfast is a public research university in Belfast, Northern Ireland. The university's official title, per its charter, is The Queen's University of Belfast. It is often referred to simply as Queen's, or by the abbreviation QUB. The university was chartered in 1845, and opened in 1849 as "Queen's College, Belfast", but has roots going back to 1810 and the Royal Belfast Academical Institution.

Queen's is a member of the Russell Group of leading research intensive universities, the Association of Commonwealth Universities, the European University Association, Universities Ireland and Universities UK. The university has been associated with three Nobel laureates and one Turing Award laureate. The university offers academic degrees at various levels and across a broad subject range, with over 300 degree programmes available. Professor Patrick Johnston is the University’s 12th President and Vice-Chancellor since 1 March 2014, and its Chancellor is Thomas Moran.

The University also forms the focal point of the Queen's Quarter area of the city, one of Belfast's seven cultural districts.


Queen’s University of Belfast

University Road


Northern Ireland, BT7 1NN

United Kingdom

Visit website